332 WinnersCircle IndyTony Schumacher sprinted to victory on Labor Day at the Chevrolet Performance U.S. Nationals at Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis.

Schumacher claimed his 82nd career win when he powered his dragster to a 3.806-second pass at 317.64 mph to beat Steve Torrence's 3.803 at 325.06 in the final round on Monday. The winningest Top Fuel driver in NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series history also became the winningest driver in Lucas Oil Raceway history by tallying his 10th career victory at the venerable track. Schumacher outran Tripp Tatum, reigning world champ Antron Brown and Sonoma, Calif., winner J.R. Todd in the earlier rounds before facing Torrence.

"I didn't see (Steve Torrence) for one second but I heard him," said Schumacher. "It was a great final round, live on FOX and I had the chance to win my 10th at Indy. The fans got a close race. It's been such a great career and it's been so much fun. I've had great teams, one after another and it's a blessing to be a part of this and have a chance. I love my job and I love drag racing cars."

Schumacher, who also won the Top Fuel portion of the lucrative NHRA Traxxas Nitro Shootout earlier in the weekend, will enter the NHRA Mello Yello Countdown to the Championship six-race playoff as the No. 4 seed.

332 WinnersCircle IndyMatt Hagan (Funny Car), Chris McGaha (Pro Stock) and Andrew Hines (Pro Stock Motorcycle) also were winners in their respective categories at the 18th event of 24 on the 2016 NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series schedule. The Chevrolet Performance U.S. Nationals was the final race of the regular season.

Hagan pushed his Dodge Charger R/T Funny Car to a 3.964 at 327.43 to better reigning world champion Del Worsham's 3.958 at 324.20 in his Toyota Camry. This is Hagan's 21st career win and first ever at the Chevrolet Performance U.S. Nationals. The two-time world champ has three wins so far this season and enters the playoffs as the third seed. Hagan sprinted past John Bojec, Robert Hight and Tommy Johnson Jr. en route to making his fifth final round appearance of the season.

In Pro Stock, McGaha tallied his first win in 2016 by racing his Chevy Camaro to a 6.688 at 207.15 to defeat Allen Johnson's 6.715 at 207.09 in his Dodge Dart. McGaha, who was the runner-up at Phoenix earlier this year, has four wins in his career. This was his first final round appearance at Indianapolis. The Texan will enter the Countdown as the No. 7 seed. He outlasted Matt Hartford, Curt Steinbach and two-time 2016 runner-up Vincent Nobile en route to the final round.

Andrew Hines took over the Pro Stock Motorcycle points lead by riding his Harley-Davidson to a 6.682 at 194.63 in the final round to beat Hector Arana Jr., who redlighted on his Buell. Hines earned his 47th career win, fifth of the 2016 season and second at Lucas Oil Raceway with the effort. The winningest Pro Stock Motorcycle racer in NHRA history beat rookie Melissa Surber, alligator farmer Jerry Savoie and Sonoma winner LE Tonglet in the earlier rounds.

The 2016 NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series will continue with the NHRA Carolina Nationals, Sept. 16-18, at zMAX Dragway in Charlotte, N.C. The event is the first race of the six-race NHRA Mello Yello Countdown to the Championship playoffs.


Subscribe to Racer



Mazda Team Joest's Growth

Scott Dixon on the IndyCar Deflector test

See more than 50 On Board videos.