alvaro Bautista

Alvaro Bautista

Alvaro Bautista topped the times on the second day of the "non-factory" MotoGP test in Qatar on Sunday.

The Gresini Honda rider improved by almost a second from Friday and his best effort of 1m55.194s shaded the quickest time from the previous day, a 1m55.386s set by Forward's Aleix Espargaro. Bautista was also one of the day's busiest riders, clocking up 55 laps around the Losail circuit.

Stefan Bradl made it a satellite Honda one-two aboard his LCR machine, though he was 0.314sec back, with Espargaro again demonstrating the pace of Forward's Open-spec bike with the third-fastest time, just 0.078sec slower than Bradl.

Tech 3 Yamaha pair Bradley Smith and Pol Espargaro completed the top five, while Pramac's Andrea Iannone was again the top Ducati in sixth.

The second day of the test was largely without incident, although Iannone's Pramac teammate Yonny Hernandez did crash after dropping his bike. Despite that, and a technical issue earlier in the day, he ended up eighth fastest, just behind the second Forward of Colin Edwards.

Danilo Petrucci, riding the Ioda again as it makes its first pre-season appearance, was slowest of the 17 riders, 4.1sec slower than Bautista.

Pos  Rider            Team/Bike             Time       Gap
 1.  Alvaro Bautista  Gresini Honda         1m55.194s
 2.  Stefan Bradl     LCR Honda             1m55.508s  +0.314s
 3.  Aleix Espargaro  Forward-Yamaha        1m55.586s  +0.392s
 4.  Bradley Smith    Tech 3 Yamaha         1m55.627s  +0.433s
 5.  Pol Espargaro    Tech 3 Yamaha         1m55.876s  +0.682s
 6.  Andrea Iannone   Pramac Ducati         1m56.026s  +0.832s
 7.  Colin Edwards    Forward-Yamaha        1m56.289s  +1.095s
 8.  Yonny Hernandez  Pramac Ducati         1m56.480s  +1.286s
 9.  Nicky Hayden     Aspar Honda           1m56.923s  +1.729s
10.  Scott Redding    Gresini Honda         1m57.154s  +1.960s
11.  Hiroshi Aoyama   Aspar Honda           1m57.281s  +2.087s
12.  Karel Abraham    Cardion Honda         1m57.728s  +2.534s
13.  Broc Parkes      PBM Aprilia           1m57.730s  +2.536s
14.  Hector Barbera   Avintia FTR-Kawasaki  1m57.738s  +2.544s
15.  Michael Laverty  PBM Aprilia           1m57.860s  +2.666s
16.  Mike di Meglio   Avintia FTR-Kawasaki  1m58.175s  +2.981s
17.  Danilo Petrucci  Ioda Aprilia          1m59.305s  +4.111s

Originally on

Follow Racer

The RACER Poll

Which circuit would you most like to see added to the 2016 Verizon IndyCar Series schedule?
  • Votes: (0%)
  • Votes: (0%)
  • Votes: (0%)
  • Votes: (0%)
  • Votes: (0%)
  • Votes: (0%)
  • Votes: (0%)
  • Votes: (0%)
  • Votes: (0%)
  • Votes: (0%)
  • Votes: (0%)
Total Votes:
First Vote:
Last Vote:

Video: The Insider Issue

The Insider Issue is on sale now. Click here for more information.


Ryan Millen takes it to a different level.


See more than 50 On Board videos.

Honda Racing / HPD Videos

Michael Shank Racing races against time and the elements at Road Atlanta

Like us On Facebook

Twitter Feed