WRC: Ogier leads over three-way fight for second

2016-10-01 15:39:52

Sebastien Ogier consolidated his lead of the World Rally Championship's Tour of Corsica on Saturday morning, as a three-way battle for second broke out.

On the morning opener, Ogier's VW teammate Andreas Mikkelsen took second fastest time, overturning the third Polo of Jari-Matti Latvala and promoting him to third overall behind Hyundai's Thierry Neuville. He then tied Ogier for fastest time on SS6, reducing Neuville's hold on second to just 5.4s.

Latvala's discontent continued, with last year's winner is out of sorts on the French island. He dropped 14.8s behind Mikkelsen on the last stage of the morning, but still realistically in the fight for the second place.

Ogier's equal fastest time helped to assure his lead, the gap now 53.6s ahead of Neuville. The Frenchman got stuck at a hairpin on SS5 but recovered to go third fastest on the stage. That was the three-time champion's only real drama.

Although it looked like Mikkelsen had won the first stage, Kris Meeke sneaked in later on in the stage to take a time 17s faster than Mikkelsen, promoting the Northern Irishman to eighth overall.

Yesterday he had been second overall and Ogier's closest challenger before a puncture cost him over two minutes. However, in the second stage of the loop this morning, he went off 400 metres into the stage and hit a tree, signing himself out of the rally.

Meeke's teammate Craig Breen continued his impressive performance, on his sixth WRC event in a top-class car. He established fifth ahead of Hyundai's Hayden Paddon, while M-Sport's Eric Camilli kept up his consistent performance to sit seventh.

Hyundai's Dani Sordo was promoted to eighth after Meeke's off. The Spaniard had a puncture on Friday costing him over two minutes.


1 Sebastien Ogier, J.Ingrassia Volkswagen 2h32m12.8s
2 Thierry Neuville, N.Gilsoul Hyundai 53.6s
3 Andreas Mikkelsen, A.Jager Volkswagen 59.0s
4 Jari-Matti Latvala, M.Anttila Volkswagen 1m13.8s
5 Craig Breen, S.Martin Citroen 1m30.7s
6 Hayden Paddon, J.Kennard Hyundai 2m10.1s
7 Eric Camilli, B.Veillas Ford 2m57.2s
8 Dani Sordo, M.Marti Hyundai 2m59.1s
9 Elfyn Evans, C.Parry Ford 3m48.8s
10 Mads Ostberg, O.Floene Ford 3m56.2s


Originally on Autosport.com

Subscribe to Racer



RACER Magazine 25th Anniversary Video

33 years of SportsCar magazine history.

See more than 50 On Board videos.