WRC: Ogier builds lead as Meeke hits trouble

2016-09-30 16:05:44

Volkswagen's Sebastien Ogier extended his Tour of Corsica lead on Friday afternoon after PH Sport Citroen driver Kris Meeke dropped down the order with a puncture.

Meeke had been the reigning World Rally champion's closest contender on the morning loop, resting 14.7 seconds down on the Frenchman after two stages. But a deflated Michelin cover cost the Northern Irishman more than two minutes, when he had sought to become the first British driver since Colin McRae in 2001 to score three consecutive WRC wins.

Ogier went 15s quicker than anyone in the stage where Meeke's hopes perished and the VW's closest contender on the stage also became his closest challenger on the rally overall, Hyundai's Thierry Neuville. The Belgian consolidated second at end the day, but with a resurgent Jari-Matti Latvala 14s back in third.

Latvala struggled for confidence in the morning with the car "washing out" in corners, but after a change at service the Finn worked his way back into contention, jumping teammate Andreas Mikkelsen on the last stage of the day with a second-fastest overall time.

Behind Mikkelsen, Craig Breen made the most of trouble for Hyundai duo Hayden Paddon and Dani Sordo to take fifth. Sordo stopped to change a puncture on SS4, while Paddon drove through the end of the same stage, also with a puncture, but consequently lost time.

Breen trails fourth-placed Mikkelsen by 19.4s, while Paddon holds sixth but has to drive back to service on his punctured tire.

As it stands, Paddon holds the place ahead of the top M-Sport driver on the day, Eric Camilli in seventh. The Frenchman sits 40s ahead of experienced team-mate Mads Ostberg.

After his trouble, Meeke holds 11th, 2m51.9s down on Ogier.


1 Sebastien Ogier, J.Ingrassia Volkswagen 1h37m52.8ss 1h37m52.8s
2 Thierry Neuville, N.Gilsoul Hyundai 1h38m36.8ss 44.0s
3 Jari-Matti Latvala, M.Anttila Volkswagen 1h38m50.8ss 58.0s
4 Andreas Mikkelsen, A.Jager Volkswagen 1h38m52.1ss 59.3s
5 Craig Breen, S.Martin Citroen 1h39m11.5ss 1m18.7s
6 Hayden Paddon, J.Kennard Hyundai 1h39m19.0ss 1m26.2s
7 Eric Camilli, B.Veillas Ford 1h39m53.5ss 2m00.7s
8 Elfyn Evans, C.Parry Ford 1h40m29.1ss 2m36.3s
9 Dani Sordo, M.Marti Hyundai 1h40m31.9ss 2m39.1s
10 Mads Ostberg, O.Floene Ford 1h40m34.7ss 2m41.9s
11 Kris Meeke, P.Nagle Citroen 1h40m44.7ss 2m51.9s
12 Jan Kopecky, P.Dresler Skoda 1h40m44.8ss 2m52.0s


Originally on Autosport.com

Subscribe to Racer



Mazda Team Joest's Growth

Scott Dixon on the IndyCar Deflector test

See more than 50 On Board videos.